BioScience Dictionary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Ot.

Found Division 6 times.

Displaying results 1 to 10.

1. Division
* The act of dividing. * The second highest taxonomic classification for the kingdom s Plantae (plants) and Fungi, between kingdom level and class level.

2. Division Chrysophyta (diatoms, golden-brown algae, yellow-green algae)
This biological division contains the diatoms, golden-brown algae , and yellow-green algae. Scientists estimate that there are about 12,000 species in this division. These organisms are all single-celled and are mainly found in marine environments. They conduct photosynthesis and contain chlorophyll s a and c; diatom s and golden-brown algae also contain the acessory pigment fucoxanthin. They store their food as large droplets of oil or in the form of the carbohydrate leucosin. These organisms usually reproduce by cell division. There are about 10,000 living species of diatoms, 1500 species of golden-brown algae, and 600 species of yellow-green algae.

3. Division Cyanophyta (cyanophytes, cyanobacteria, blue-green algae)
Division Cyanophyta (which is in Kingd om Monera ) contains the cyanobacteria, which are one-celled or colonial prokaryote s that contain chlorophyll (but not chloroplast s, which contain the chlorophyll in true plants). Cyanobacteria are autotrophs (create their own energy via photosynthesis ) and reproduce by fission (splitting in two). There are over 7,500 species of cyanobacteria and they are found in many environments: damp soil and rocks, fresh water, and salt water.

4. Division Euglenophyta (euglenoids, Euglena)
This biological division contains the algal species Euglena and over 1,000 species of related algae ; they are all unicellular (single-celled) and are mainly found in freshwater environments. They are all photosynthetic (though some are secondary heterotroph s) and they all contain chlorophyll s a and b. A unique feature of this division is that they store the energy they produce from photosynthesis as paramylum, an unusual carbohydrate . Members of this division have a contractile vacuole and a single flagellum .

5. Division Pyrrophyta (fire algae)
This division is composed of marine organisms known as "fire" algae , so named because most of them are red in color. Fire algae are an important component of ocean plankton . The major class within this division is Class Dinophyceae, the dinoflagellate s. There are over 1100 species in this division. Members of Pyrrophyta are single-celled, photosynthetic organisms that move via two flagella . They store their food as starch , and their cell walls are made of cellulose . They usually reproduce asexually .

6. Division Schizophyta (bacteria)
This taxonomic division (which is in Kingdom Monera ) contains the bacteria (over 2,500 species). These are one-celled prokaryote s that usually reproduce asexually via binary fission (splitting in two).

View web definitions »

Learn more about Division »