BioScience Dictionary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | Ot.

Found Prokaryote 27 times.

Displaying results 1 to 10.

1. 16S rRNA
A large polynucleotide (about 1500 bases) which functions as a part of the small subunit of the ribosome of prokaryote s and from whose sequence evolutionary information can be obtained; the eukaryotic counterpart is 18S rRNA.

2. Archae (Archaebacteria)
This is a super-classification of odd bacteria that are neither prokaryote s nor eukaryote s; some scientists believe they represent a separate kingdom. The primary genus is Archaebacteria, whose members fall in three categories: microbes that can live in extremely salty environments (halophiles), microbes that produce methane (methanogens), and microbes that can live in extremely hot environments (thermophiles). All are of interest to biotechnologists because they have unique biochemical features (e.g., the enzyme s of the theromophiles are extremely stable at high temperatures).

3. Archaebacteria
Ancient (over 3.5 billion years old) group of prokaryotes; some biologists want to place this group into a separate Kingdom, the Archaea. Most currently place it within the Kingdom Monera .

4. Bacteria (Eubacteria)
A super-classification (above kingdom level) of all prokaryote s; excludes Archaebacteria .

5. Cellular respiration
The transfer of energy from various molecules to produce ATP ; occurs in the mitochondria of eukaryotes , the cytoplasm of prokaryotes . In the process, oxygen is consumed and carbon dioxide is generated.

6. Chromosomes
The self-replicating genetic structures of cells containing the cellular DNA that bears in its nucleotide sequence the linear array of gene s. In prokaryote s, chromosomal DNA is circular, and the entire genome is carried on one chromosome. Eukaryotic genome s consist of a number of chromosomes whose DNA is associated with different kinds of protein s.

7. Division Cyanophyta (cyanophytes, cyanobacteria, blue-green algae)
Division Cyanophyta (which is in Kingd om Monera ) contains the cyanobacteria, which are one-celled or colonial prokaryote s that contain chlorophyll (but not chloroplast s, which contain the chlorophyll in true plants). Cyanobacteria are autotrophs (create their own energy via photosynthesis ) and reproduce by fission (splitting in two). There are over 7,500 species of cyanobacteria and they are found in many environments: damp soil and rocks, fresh water, and salt water.

8. Division Schizophyta (bacteria)
This taxonomic division (which is in Kingdom Monera ) contains the bacteria (over 2,500 species). These are one-celled prokaryote s that usually reproduce asexually via binary fission (splitting in two).

9. Eubacteria
The subunit of the Monera that includes the true bacteria such as E. coli. One of the three major groups of prokaryotes in the Kingdom Monera . The eubacteria have cell walls containing peptidoglycan.

10. Eukaryote (eucaryote, eukaryotic cell, eucaryotic cell)
Cell or organism with a membrane-bound, structurally discrete nucleus and other well-developed subcellular compartments. Eukaryotes include all organisms except virus es, bacteria , and cyanobacteria (blue-green algae). Compare prokaryote .

View web definitions »

Learn more about Prokaryote »